ARLA/CLUSTER: CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame tem 18 novos membros

João Costa > CT1FBF ct1fbf
Sexta-Feira, 19 de Maio de 2017 - 13:22:12 WEST

CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame has 18 new members

The *CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame* has 18 new members for 2017, CQ
magazine announced today. This brings to 310 the total number of members
inducted since the hall's establishment in 2001.

The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame honors those individuals, whether
licensed hams or not, who have made significant contributions to amateur
radio; and those amateurs who have made significant contributions either to
amateur radio, to their professional careers or to some other aspect of
life on our planet.

The 2017 inductees (listed alphabetically) are:

   - King Bhumibol Adulyadej of Thailand, HS1A (SK)
   - John Brosnahan, W0UN (SK) - President of Alpha Power, NOAA physicist
   and instrumental in design and construction of the HAARP facility in
   - Garrett Brown, W3AFF - Inventor of the Steadicam, which earned him
   both Oscar and Emmy awards for filmmaking technology
   - Britton Chance, W2IBK (SK) - Pioneer in magnetic imaging; MIT
   professor, team leader in MIT Radiation Lab developing WWII radar; US
   Olympic gold medalist (sailing, 1952)
   - John Crockett, W3KH - Repeater coordination pioneer; developed
   Southeastern Repeater Assn (SERA) Universal Coordination System; managed
   SCHEART system of linked repeaters in hospitals; VP Engineering for SC
   Educational TV network
   - Julius T. Freeman, KB2OFY (SK) - Tuskegee Airman and Congressional
   Gold Medal recipient; frequent speaker at schools and civic organizations
   - Limor Fried, AC2SN - Founder of Adafruit Industries, major supplier of
   open-source electronics to the Maker community; honored by President Obama
   in 2016 as a "Champion of Change" and by the Internet of Things Institute
   as one of the 25 most influential women in the IoT industry
   - Robin Haighton, VE3FRH (SK) - Founding member of Amateur Radio on the
   International Space Station (ARISS), former president of AMSAT-NA
   - David Honess, M6DNT - Developed AstroPi project, which sent two
   Raspberry Pi computers to the International Space Station as platforms for
   students on Earth to write and run their own computer code in space;
   honored for this work with the Sir Arthur Clarke Award, presented by the
   Arthur C. Clarke Foundation and the British Interplanetary Society
   - Pete Kemp, KZ1Z (SK) - Author and educator, directly responsible for
   licensing over 700 new hams
   - Kristen McIntyre, K6WX - Apple software engineer and inventor (her
   name is on 22 granted or pending patents), promoter of STEM (science,
   technology, engineering and math) subjects for girls through various talks
   and YouTube presentations
   - Pat McPherson, WW9E (SK) - Founder and longtime coordinator of SATERN
   (Salvation Army Team Emergency Radio Network)
   - Andy Nguyen, VK3YT - Pico-ballooner, pioneered round-the-world
   microballoon flights carrying amateur radio
   - Tim Peake, KG5BVI - UK astronaut very active in ARISS program during
   time on International Space Station; coordinated ISS end of the AstroPi
   project (see David Honess, above)
   - Mike Santana, WB6TEB (SK) - Two-way radio engineer, designed Clegg
   FM-76 220-MHz transceiver and President line of CB rigs, favorites for
   conversion to 10 meters
   - Allan Steinfeld, W2TN, ex-KL7HIR (SK) - Longtime Race Director of the
   New York City Marathon, considered one of the fathers of the modern running
   - Gerald Youngblood, K5SDR - Pioneer of software defined radio (SDR) and
   founder of FlexRadio

Two new members each are also being inducted into the CQ DX and Contest
Halls of Fame at the respective Dayton DX and Contest dinners. Their names
will be announced separately.
-------------- próxima parte ----------
Um anexo em HTML foi limpo...

Mais informações acerca da lista CLUSTER